The First Day of Hair Detox: No Shampoo!

Today is my first day washing my hair without shampoo. I’ve been inspired. After reading my friend Megan’s blog post about her one year anniversary going shampoo free and loving in, things have clicked.

I tried this a while back but it didn’t work out. I didn’t realize the reason behind the detox period and was impatient with my greasy hair.

I also didn’t know about all of the benefits of going ‘poo free. I was mostly worried about the chemicals in regular shampoo but figured that natural shampoo without nasty chemicals would be okay. OH how wrong I was.

1. Regular shampoo is drying (especially shampoo that contains sulphates like Sodium Lauryl Sulfate–this is the worst!) and strips your hair of all of it’s natural oils, which in turn make your hair greasier as it tries to compensate. It’s a vicious cycle.

2. Regular shampoo adds a polymer and/or glycerin coating which is essentially like putting plastic on your hair.

3. When using regular shampoo your hair will need washing more often to combat the excessive oil production.

4. A lot of people notice their hair naturally lightening when going no ‘poo. *Sweet!*

5. Your hair will be shinier and more manageable.

6. You’ll save a ton of money on shampoo and conditioner. Especially if you are like me and have a lot of hair.

These are the ingredients in Pantene Pro-V:

Water, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Cocamide MEA, Glycol Distearate, Dimethicone, Fragrance, Panthenol, Panthenyl Ethyl Ether, Cetyl Alcohol, Polyquaternium-10, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Benzoate, Ammonium Xylenesulfonate, Disodium EDTA, PEG-7M, Citric Acid, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone

You can see how that would do a number on your poor hair….

I have not dyed my hair in over a year, expose my hair to a lot of sunshine, blow dry, or straighten it (unless it’s a special occasion) but my hair is still breaking at the ends, very dry, and practically impossible to brush! Could this be from a daily use of shampoo? Can I restore my hair to it’s full glory by going shampoo free?

The detox period happens when your hair is transitioning from oil over-production to normal oil production. Hence, the greasy hair at the beginning. Slowly, it will begin to understand that it can calm down and stop producing so much oil. The amount of time this takes varies from head to head. I am assuming my hair will have a pretty long detox period, so if you see me and my hair is greasy, you’ll know why.

What will I use instead of shampoo and conditioner you ask?

Baking soda for shampoo and Apple Cider Vinegar dilution for a rinse.

That’s it!

There are many ways of application. I’ve read of some people applying their baking soda before getting in the shower to dry hair then rinsing it out in the shower. Some people mix it with a little water and pour it over their head in the shower.

I’ve read about people putting their ACV dilution (1/4 vinegar to 3/4 water) in a spray bottle (which I will do when I acquire a spray bottle). For now, I’ve put my solution in an old shampoo bottle and will pour it over my head mostly focusing on the ends of my hair.

There are some variations you can use with the rinse. I’ve read about Chamomile tea rinses, spritzing with food grade hydrogen peroxide (this may lighten up your hair extra quick), and my favorite, the Hibiscus rinse. If you missed my post about the Hibiscus rinse for your hair you can read it here.

Last but not least, I would like to give a special thanks in advance to sock buns and bobby pins for allowing me to go through this detox period while still projecting the image of a clean, socially acceptable person.

We’ll see how this goes…

3 thoughts on “The First Day of Hair Detox: No Shampoo!

  1. I often use baking soda and vinegar (sometimes ACV, sometimes white). Usually I have used one or the other, not both in the same day (and typically I “wash” my hair with one or the other daily). I generally like the results (my hair is fairly curly, and my curls are much more defined than when I use shampoo), but usually after a few weeks of no-poo my hair just feels “icky” and I end up doing a thorough shampooing. Perhaps I’ll try the baking soda and vinegar together and see if there’s a difference? I do still use conditioner, or a styling oil (after showering), because if I don’t, I have crazy curls! 🙂

    • That’s great to know about your curls, Mae. I have wavy/slightly curly hair if I let it air dry without brushing it so I am curious to see what happens with the baking soda/ACV mix.
      The ickiness you are talking about is what happened to me last time I tried to completely get out of the shampoo habit. I wonder if you kept going if the ickiness would subside. It sounds like after a week your hair is still producing a lot of oil. For some people it takes a month even for hair to stop producing excessive oil. I think this is probably how it’s going to be with me.
      As for the difference, I think the baking soda has better “cleaning” action as opposed to rinsing with ACV. I kind of scrub it in and work it around a lot with my fingers. You can’t really do that with ACV.

  2. Pingback: Day 23 No Shampoo! | Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Healthiness

Have a comment? Think I'm crazy? Let me know!

