A jumble of thoughts to ring in 2013!

I feel like my first post back on the ol’ blog should be a big one! I fell off the face of the earth and now I’m back. Woo hoo! Well, not really, I have a better excuse than that for neglecting my blog and her three, okay maybe 4, readers…

We moved!!!

We now live in The City! Portland, OR. Foodie and Hippie Capital of the world. It’s lovely. I am already impressed with how much better Portland weather is than Astoria weather. Like today for instance, the sun is out! Albeit, it is 35 degrees, you would never see the sun out in Astoria during this time of year!

This is the lovely bridge in our neighborhood we get to cross on our way to school/work.

This is the lovely bridge in our neighborhood we get to cross on our way to school/work.

But I work in Beaverton…not so lovely. Not that the job itself isn’t lovely…just Beaverton. You can’t drive anywhere without needing a crocheting project to occupy your time while you spend an hour waiting at every. single. stoplight.

Which brings me to my next topic….

I have discovered the most magical activity in the world…besides eating fat and drinking wine…It is the perfect antidote to compulsive spending, fidgety-ness, ADD, anxiety, stress, and restlessness.

It is….CROCHET!

It is the perfect activity to be paired with my paranoia about the economic disaster looming and/or in case the Illuminati unleash their terror upon our poor souls. If we are wandering nomads trying to escape the evil reigning in power…how will we clothe ourselves?? Crocheting of course! How will we stay warm when they steal our blankets? Crocheting of course!

188306828141208621_PcfUnnQ3_c

This is my ultimate crochet goal. A 1970’s cape pattern.

These are my cute but crooked boof cuffs I made.

These are my cute but crooked boof cuffs I made.

Well, if you didn’t know, now you do. I am a mental doomsday prepper. But I limit it to fantastical scenarios merely in my head.

I’m sorry if I scared you off…please come back. I won’t bite. I don’t even have a bunker!

My wise husband has calmed my paranoia about such things by reminding me that we need to put our trust in God. If we are prepping for disaster, how is that trusting that God will provide for us?

I, in turn, make fun of this by saying he has poured too much coffee in his cup and he is not trusting in God to provide for his needs of the rest of the cup. he…he…he…what is wrong with me!?

I am so mean.

He is right. It’s right there in the Bible if you don’t believe him.

God forbid you don’t have a Bible, I’ll post the scripture for you.

““Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. …”

Matthew 6:25-34

Anyway, It’s really great to enter blog world again. I hope you stop by again as I have some interesting posts coming your way.

I hope everyone has a GREAT 2013! Happy New Year!

Me and my sweet hub on New Years eve :-) ...my eyelashes aren't usually so big.

Me and my sweet hub on New Years eve 🙂
…my eyelashes aren’t usually so big.

One thought on “A jumble of thoughts to ring in 2013!

Have a comment? Think I'm crazy? Let me know!

