Camping at Mt. St. Helens, Swift Lake & other adventures

MSH1

Majestic Mount St. Helens. Photo by Jeremiah Scott.

I’m baaaaack!

I must apologize for being MIA for the past couple weeks. There are a couple of reasons for my departure from blog land:

1. My momma came to visit us!

2. Jeremiah’s momma is in town!

2. The sun came out in Oregon.

3. We went camping.

While I LOVE blogging and writing about things that I’m obsessed with it is always good to take a break. And I really can’t justify being indoors on the comp while the sun is showing it’s pretty little face. I need me some Vitamin D! (And a tan…)

While my mom was here, I went as her plus one to her 35 year high school reunion. We also visited a family friend’s farm in Washington where my mom lived for a while when she was in high school and in her twenties.

mommaandmelvin

My mom with family friend, Melvin

IMG01318-20120505-1513

Cutie pie happy grass fed cows at the farm!

yearbook

My mom, bottom right, way back when as a high school Junior rockin’ the style of ’77! And also featured above with arms crossed. Teenage angst!

MSH2

Photo by Jeremiah Scott.

MSH3

Swift Lake. Photo by Jeremiah Scott.

The following weekend Jeremiah and I went camping overnight at the most beautiful place ever! We camped at Swift Lake, a resevoir near Mt. St. Helens. The first day we were there it was in the low nineties. I was in heaven. Jeremiah, not so much. His Finn skin doesn’t like the beating hot sun…

We visited the Ape Caves with Jeremiah’s friend Steve. The boys got quite a workout on the more intense cave trail while I soaked up some rays above ground. I’m pretty sure Jeremiah’s baby cows are still mooing. AKA his calves are SO SORE!

apecaves1

The entrance to the lower cave trail. This one is 3/4 mi. long. Photo by Jeremiah Scott.

apecaves2

Jeremiah and Steve. Flashlights are necessary, you will only get a few feet before you’re SOL.

apecaves3

the other end of the more intense trail. This cave was 1.5 mi. long. Photo by Jeremiah Scott.

apecaves4

Dark. Photo by Jeremiah Scott.

If you have never seen or heard of the Ape Caves, I really recommend them. They are “mind bottling!”, as Will Ferrel would say.

How these caves were formed:

“About 2,000 years ago lava poured down the southern flank of Mount St. Helens in streams.  As the lava flowed the outer edges of the lava stream cooled forming a hardened crust which insulated the molten lava beneath.  This allowed the lava to remain hot and fluid encased in this “lava tube” and continued flowing months during the eruption.  The end result was the creation of this spectacular 13,042 long lava tube. “ (from mountsthelens.com)

I am really glad we got away even if it was just for a short time. For me, a dramatic change in scenery is really vital in making the most of weekends.

MSH4

Me! Trying to find a warm spot to sun tan. Photo by Jeremiah Scott.

Have a comment? Think I'm crazy? Let me know!

