WBGW: Eat for pleasure!

women-sitting-at-a-cafe-terrace

This week I decided to talk rather than write about a weird belief of mine. It’s my first video and I am pretty much a huge dork in it so don’t judge me!!! I was so nervous…I had a glass of wine to calm my nerves. Also, when people tell me I have a Californian accent I know what they mean now. Albeit, I hope you guys take me seriously because I’m seriously serious.

I drink wine moderately, yes. I am not an alcoholic so don’t ya’ll get on your high horses telling me alcohol shouldn’t be used like that. It’s biblical.

Anyway, my topic for this wednesday (or thursday, rather) is that I don’t believe in diets. I don’t believe in veganism, the raw food diet, the paleo diet (although this one is better than most), atkins, zone, the cookie diet, weight watchers, jenny craig, none of this crap. I believe in eating what you want when you want it. AS LONG AS IT”S REAL AND WAS MADE IN YOUR KITCHEN. And if it wasn’t made in your kitchen make sure all of the ingredients could have been.

I believe in meat, fat, and carbs, OH MY!

I am reading “Why French Women Don’t Get Fat” by Mireille Guiliano and although I am Italian, I sometimes sort of think I was born to be French. I love the language, the art, the food, the architecture, the shopping, the cities, the country, the wine, and of course, Carla Bruni. French women LOVE food. You know that “joie de vivre” people always talk about? It comes from pleasure and not deprivation. Noone who starves themself in hopes of happiness has any joie de vivre. I love that Mireille says “Learning to eat right is like learning a language–nothing works like immersion.” So here’s why I think you should be like a french woman…

Ok, here’s the video:

And here’s a great song by Carla Bruni:

Have a comment? Think I'm crazy? Let me know!

