WBGW: Yogurt Mask

phonto
Here’s me kissing my yogurt container with yogurt all over my face.

You know the rule of thumb that says “If you wouldn’t eat it, don’t put it on your skin!” Well, I think this really lives up to that standard.

I have been finding it hard to ferment my own dairy products lately. Between blogging, working, wife-ing, cleaning, cooking, life-ing, schooling (just one class with hubby–we’re learning Finnish!) I find that I can’t always fit it in. But don’t worry your little heart because Strauss family creamery makes amazing yogurt. If you are going to use store bought I recommend using Strauss only. Other yogurts have weird additives that I would not recommend for your complexion–namely sugar, thickening agents, and preservatives. Also, make sure you use whole milk yogurt. The fat is where it’s at! Strauss cultures the milk AFTER pasteurization to ensure the highest amount of beneficial bacteria possible. It is cultured for over ten hours. Oh yeah!

I’ve struggled with skin issues for a long time now. Oddly enough they didn’t start until I was about 20. Maybe I am a late bloomer, but my hormones seem to be going wild still, four years later. I’m hoping to transition out of puberty soon…ha! Skin issues suck, but I feel that some of the simple lifestyle changes I’ve made are the source of vast improvements. Cultured yogurt face masks–AKA the po’ woman’s face mask–really tickle my fancy because it covers all the bases. It’s cheap, easy, hydrating, balancing, cleansing, and will leave your skin glowing. Yogurt masks are known to even out skin tones, heal blemishes, balance pH, and hydrate. The beneficial bacteria in yogurt is anti-bacterial and anti-fungal, perfect for beating blemishes.
How to do it:
1. Put about 2 tablespoons in a small bowl
2. Apply the yogurt with your finger all over your face–use a little more in your problem areas.
3. Let sit on skin for about ten or fifteen minutes. The yogurt will become transluscent.
4. Wash off with warm water.
5. Moisturize (with coconut oil!)

While I am a huge advocate of diet being the most important factor for skin health I still feel like a girl needs to exfoliate once in a while.
Yogurt it is!

This post is linked to Gnowfglins’ Simple Life Thursdays and Kelly the Kitchen Kop’s Real Food Wednesday
IMG0001

7 thoughts on “WBGW: Yogurt Mask

  1. I love yogurt on my face 🙂 I like mixing it with some pureed pumpkin, sometimes nutmeg, sometimes turmeric… it’s a lot of fun to experiment with different spices and other foods! I totally agree about the rule of thumb you mentioned. If you wouldn’t eat it, don’t put it on your skin.

  2. Straus yogurt is awesome. My daughter loves their maple yogurt. I think a honey/yogurt mask would be great too (have been hearing great things about honey for the face).

Have a comment? Think I'm crazy? Let me know!

