Creamed and Curried Eggplant

Aubergine (Brinjal) in the home terrace garden
Did I mention I LOVE Indian food?

Here is a delicious recipe that is the perfect pair to rice (don’t forget to sprout it!), Naan (indian flat bread), or just in a bowl all by itself!

There is something about the creaminess and depth of Indian spices that is so addicting. I can’t really describe the flavor because it is so well rounded and full. You have to see for yourself!

Here’s what you will need:

3 medium size Eggplants

1 large yellow onion

1 1/2 tsp. fennel seeds

1 1/2 tsp garam masala (spice)

1 T sea salt

1 tsp. curry powder

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. cayenne powder

1 T cumin

Approx 3 T Ghee or butter

1/2 cup of cream preferably raw or atleast not ultra-pasteurized

1/4 cup chopped tomatoes

I didn’t measure as I was going, so these are guestimate measurements. I think they are pretty accurate but you can do what you think looks right/yummy.

Directions:

1. Cut eggplants in half and broil at 500 degrees for approximately ten minutes on each  side or until the skin starts to wrinkle and detach. The outside should look slightly scorched.

2. While the eggplant is cooling fry the onion in ghee/butter with spices. Let the onions become soft then add the chopped tomatoes.

3. Fry this mixture until it is thick and there is not much liquid left. Set aside.

4. Scrape eggplant flesh out of skin.

5. In food processor or with electric mixer, process with about 1/2 cup cream (more if you like) I also used some creme fraiche I had in my fridge. The texture will ideally be not runny but thick and creamy. Add sea salt to your liking.

6.Mix the processed eggplant with the onion/tomatoes and add more sea salt to taste.

Enjoy!

Eggplant Bharta

photo credit: from flickr Aubergine (Brinjal) in the home terrace garden by Raman_Rambo

photo credit: from flickr Eggplant Bharta by Monica.Shaw

9 thoughts on “Creamed and Curried Eggplant

  1. Oh! That looks so delicious! I can’t wait to try this recipe. Eggplant is also my daughter’s favorite dish, no matter how it is served. Completely yummy!

Have a comment? Think I'm crazy? Let me know!

